Beauty · Fashion · Reads · Thoughts

There you are – an ode to Chanel

Confession #1: I am a little obsessed with Chanel. It has always piqued my interest, even before I was aware that the small quilted “grown up” handbag slung on my eight year old shoulder had been inspired by a bag designed by Coco Chanel in 1955.

I was lucky enough to find the ultimate treasure at Bondi markets one sunny day five years ago – a navy blue quilted handbag – long gold chain strap, tassel and all. Made in the 1980s and inherited from her mother, I could not have handed my hand earned money over to the seller quick enough. It remains the most used bag in my wardrobe, and I will always treasure it as the first bag I fell head over heels for.

Aside from a spritz of Coco Mademoiselle, it is the only piece of Chanel I own. The collections I lust over season after season are far beyond my meagre budget. They will probably always be beyond my budget, but that does not cease my fascination with the brand, its iconic history, and the direction it is moving in the future.

A product of the recent direction was officially launched on the 15th October. Perhaps the most important piece of their marketing strategy – the latest advertisement for Chanel No. 5. When I heard it was to feature Brad Pitt, I was disappointed. I have never understood what it is about him that makes females of all ages weak at the knees. With the previous advertisements best described as mini-movies, grand scale productions by the likes of Baz Luhrmann and featuring actresses such as Nicole Kidman, Marion Cotillard and Audrey Tautou, I was curious to see how Brad Pitt would sell the perfume as the first male spokesmodel.

I should have had more faith in my favourite brand. A revolutionary company that has always rebelled against the conventions. Stripped back to black and white, the ad is simple but intimate. A break from previous campaigns, and one that I’m sure Mademoiselle Chanel would approve of.

Confession #2: I must profess that the iconic scent is not to my liking. Perhaps it will grow on me, however for the moment, Coco Mademoiselle is without a doubt my preference. However, I do have a deep appreciation for the scent after reading (and absolutely loving) Tilar J. Mazzeo’s book, The Secret of Chanel No. 5. The Intimate History of the World’s Most Famous Fragrance.  No perfume in history has been as influential. I hope Mr Pitt realises how lucky he is to speak on its behalf!

Leave a Reply

