Fashion · Lifestyle · Thoughts · Uncategorized

Planning 2013 in style

In a technological age I have always felt a certain nicety about putting pen to paper. Whether it be scrawling a quick post-it note, compiling an extensive to-do list, pouring my heart out in a journal entry, or planning my life in an organiser diary, it fills me with a sense of satisfaction that can’t be beaten by iCal or a computer document.

As a sucker for all things shiny, pretty and new, selecting my yearly diary is always a long and arduous process. Is it too big? Too small? Is the paper too thin? Will it stay open? Can I store notes? Will I be happy to look at the cover in 12 months time? While this decision is not remotely important to anyone but myself – it is one I take very seriously.

Years past I have found my annual companion at Kikki K – however for my first year post university in a Full Time Adult Job, I was ready to move past the kitschy cartoons of previous years. With my dream Louis Vuitton monogrammed organiser a few pennies too many (a few hundred that is), I finally settled on a pink day-to-page design from Typo. Done.

Until the other day, when I stumbled across the last V&A 2013 Diary, sitting alone in Crabtree & Evelyn. With gorgeous fashion photography straight from the archives of the London museum, I couldn’t imagine planning my year any other way. Why shouldn’t my optometrist appointment sit beside an evening gown illustration? My phone bill reminders are certain to be all the more poignant being accompanied by a black and white photograph of Grace Kelly.

DSC_4519

DSC_4521

DSC_4525

DSC_4529

Leave a Reply

